WONTON (this is not your mother’s) MEATLOAF CUPS

I didn’t feel like cooking, so I pulled out a frozen meatloaf (courtesy of my friendly Publix), located the extra wonton wrappers that weren’t used in my Shrimp-Edamame-Rice Noodle Salad, some cheese, scallions, and ketchup. Having seen Wonton Taco Cups on Pinterest, I thought: Why not meatloaf? Good call. So easy. So “Goodness, this-is-not-your-mother’s meatloaf” (not that mom’s isn’t great). Though I limited myself to two, I could have eaten four (yes, this is me raving).

1-1/4 lb oven-ready meatloaf (Publix was my choice)

spray olive oil

24 wonton wrappers

3/4 cup sharp cheddar cheese

3/4 cup white cheddar cheese

ketchup

1 green onion, sliced thin on the diagonal

1) Bake meatloaf per package directions

2) Meanwhile, spray olive oil in 12-liner muffin pan; assemble 12 wonton cups as follows: layer 2 wonton wrappers (bottom square, top diamond) to form 8 points; gently press doubled wrappers into each muffin cup; lightly spray wrappers with olive oil

3) When meatloaf is cooked through, remove from oven and adjust oven temperature to 375 degrees; let meatloaf sit 5-10 minutes, then cut into 12 portions

4) Layer each meatloaf cup as follows: sharp cheddar cheese, meatloaf, white cheddar cheese; bake in oven 8-10 minutes until wontons begin to blister and turn golden; remove from oven

5) Squirt ketchup around meatloaf and sprinkle tops with green onions; return to oven and bake 2-3 minutes; remove from oven and serve

Serves: 4 dinner-sized portions (as long as the lone female limits herself to 2 and the guys aren’t famished); or 12 appetizer servings

NOTE: This is a “repeat” recipe featured on my original “Kitchen Novelist” blog 06/08/12

2 thoughts on “WONTON (this is not your mother’s) MEATLOAF CUPS

  1. What a great idea! I plan on doing an appetizer post on my blog, since many people have no idea what to do,(I had a friend take brownies to a formal reception!). One of the things I have advised is to make mini-versions of familiar foods, and this fits in perfectly. This would be great also for finger-food for sports gatherings. Excellent!

Leave a Reply

