TOMATO-STUFFED BEEF-TOPPED ENCHILADAS

I wanted to make these enchiladas “different,” so instead of a meat filling, I opted for juicy tomatoes, green chiles, and cheese–and put meat in the topping sauce. Very good move. As for my guys, they turned a 6-serving entree into 4-servings and didn’t gain an ounce. So what’s new, hmm?

SAUCE:

1 lb lean ground beef

1/2 medium-sized onion, diced

1/2 cup chicken broth

1-10 oz can enchilada sauce

1 tsp ground cumin

sea salt

ground black pepper

ENCHILADAS:

6 medium-sized flour tortillas

2 large tomatoes, diced

1-4 oz can diced green chiles

1-1/2 cup grated cheddar-jack blend cheese, divided

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees; lightly oil 8×8″ baking pan

2) In large skillet over medium-high heat, cook ground beef until lightly browned; add onions and cook 5 minutes; stir in chicken broth, enchilada sauce, cumin, and pinch of salt and pepper; cook 5 minutes, stirring often; remove from heat and set aside

3) Heat tortillas in microwave 15-20 seconds; lay out tortillas and equally divide tomatoes, green chiles, and 1 cup cheese (reserving 1/2 cup for topping) between tortillas; roll up and place in baking dish

4) Pour meat sauce over enchiladas; bake in oven 30 minutes; sprinkle cheese on enchiladas and bake additional 5 minutes; remove from oven and serve with a nice salad

Serves: 4-6

4 thoughts on “TOMATO-STUFFED BEEF-TOPPED ENCHILADAS

  1. tonettejoyce says:

    Oh, all of the recipes are so creative;I could comment on each one. I must come back and read more!

  2. tonettejoyce says:

    Tell me about it! I have started many works or re-writes only to find myself checking out more and more sites and recipes and answering people looking at mine.Maybe you can drop in some time…see, even I am trying to steal your working time!Seriously,I hope your writing goes well.We do need to find a balance.
    http://tonettejoycefoodfriendsfamily.wordpress.com/

  3. […] my weekly menu I picked Tomato-Stuffed Beef-Topped EnchiladasĀ (featured in an October post) to make for dinner. But…no ground beef. I don’t recall […]

Leave a Reply

