BALSAMIC MOZZARELLA-TOMATO-AVOCADO APPETIZER

With holiday gatherings on the horizon, it’s time to pull out fingerfood fare. Not only is this offering pretty and easy to make, but you really can’t go wrong with mozzarella, tomatoes, and avocados. Delicious and–hey!–aren’t those Christmas colors?

16 oz mozzarella cheese, sliced thin into 1-1/2″ x 2″ pieces

5 Roma tomatoes, sliced thin

2 avocados, pitted, peeled, and sliced thin

sea salt

ground black pepper

2 tbsp minced parsley

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

Optional: crackers or mini-slices of bread

1) In shallow casserole dish (I used a 10″ x10″ dish), layer cheese, tomato, and avocado slices as pictured

2) Sprinkle slices with sea salt and black pepper to taste, followed by parsley

3) Prior to serving, drizzle balsamic vinegar over mozzarella-tomato-avocado slices (or serve vinegar on the side); serve with crackers and/or bread

Serves: 12 or more

6 thoughts on “BALSAMIC MOZZARELLA-TOMATO-AVOCADO APPETIZER

  1. My French Heaven says:

    What a beautiful shot thanks for sharing! I love your blog!

  2. My French Heaven says:

    You should go see my post (I think it’s called “summer nostalgia”) where there is a picture of a tomato mozzarella I made with three different colors of tomatoes. That’s one of the reasons why I liked your post, it reminds me of my summer:0)

  3. Now, see? It may be Summer-y fare,(suitable to all seasons), but I , also see Christmas colors and that is perfect for an appetizer, buffet or hors d’oeuvres.( I had a friend who, knowing nothing , needed to take one to a reception full of intellectuals…she took brownies!)
    Even here, which is not cosmopolitan , there are many parties for the holidays.I think these would dress-up any table.

Leave a Reply

