USA TODAY INTERVIEW: Exploring Romance And The Modern Woman, Part 1

Join me and authors Lisa T. Bergren, Rachel Hauck , Shannon Hale, Lizbeth Selvig, and Anne Browning Walker at USA TODAY for an interview with Happily Ever After’s Serena Chase. Below is an excerpt. For the full interview, visit USA TODAY.

Serena: What is the most memorable response you’ve had to your novel or to someone finding out that you are a romance novelist?

Tamara Leigh: Being the proud spouse that he is, David introduced me to a new acquaintance as “a best-selling romance author.” The man smiled — rather lewdly, in my opinion — then proceeded to belittle my genre by relabeling my books “bodice rippers” and pointing out their non-literary status. Before I could make an excuse to slip away, he informed me that he had always wanted to write a book. Oh, dear. He said he’d love to pick my brain about how to catch an editor’s eye. And then his face lit up. Better yet, how about I introduce him to my agent? Oh, double dear. My husband interceded and offered to have me sign a book for him. The man gave a little shudder, chuckled, and said he didn’t read “that kind of stuff.” Needless to say, I hot-footed it to the ladies room.

Cover Yielding 1NewFinalAmazSmash1012

The Yielding, Book Two in the Age of Faith series now available at Amazon for $4.99.

 

4 thoughts on “USA TODAY INTERVIEW: Exploring Romance And The Modern Woman, Part 1

  1. Tamara – OH MY WORD!
    I don’t know why I’m always surprised by people. You’d think after being around this planet for…um…my whole life, that I’d be prepared to read stuff like this. Good for David!

    I have to admit, I’m laughing,,,,

  2. Ha! That’s right! I remember that scene. Life is full of fodder, isn’t it? I’m glad you have such a great attitude about that stuff. Oi. What did Geoffrey Chaucer say in A Knight’s Tale? “I will eviscerate you in fiction. Every pimple, every character flaw. I was naked for a day; you will be naked for eternity.” I love being a writer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

