SENSATIONAL BACON-ONION SPINACH SALAD (WITH OR WITHOUT RIBEYE)

Junior came home for a visit and, weary of cafeteria food, requested a juicy steak. Enter the ever-reliable Ribeye. I served it with a bacon-onion spinach salad and–my!–it was a hit. With me. While my guys filled up on steak, I indulged in the best spinach salad ever, leaving my own steak pretty much untouched. That’s why tonight’s dinner was something of a repeat. Since my guys didn’t have room for salad the night before, I made it again, this time as the entree. And that extra Ribeye? Sliced and scattered over the salad. Sensational!

Without Ribeye

Without Ribeye

Sensational Bacon-Onion Salad-With Ribeye

With Ribeye

2 tbsp olive oil, divided

6 slices turkey bacon, chopped (if you use regular fatty bacon, you won’t need to cook the bacon in 1 tbsp olive oil)

1 tbsp butter

1 red onion, peeled, quartered, and sliced thin

2/3 cup Craisins

1/2 cup corn (I used frozen and thawed)

8 cups baby spinach, coarsely chopped

OPTIONAL: 1 lb grilled and chilled steak (I used leftover ribeye), sliced thin into bite-sized pieces

1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese

1) Heat 1 tbsp (reserving 1 tbsp) olive oil in large skillet over medium-high; add bacon and cook, stirring often, 5 minutes until just crispy; reduce heat to medium, add reserved 1 tbsp olive oil, butter, and onions, and cook, stirring often, 10-12 minutes until onions soften and begin to brown; add Craisins and corn and cook 5 minutes; remove from heat and let cool 5 minutes

2) Divide spinach between 4 large plates; top with bacon-onion mixture, optional steak, and feta cheese; a dressing isn’t necessary, but I recommend champagne vinaigrette. Enjoy!

Servings: 4

3 thoughts on “SENSATIONAL BACON-ONION SPINACH SALAD (WITH OR WITHOUT RIBEYE)

  1. snati001 says:

    Been craving for a steak salad so I gotta try this!

  2. […] Sensational Bacon-onion Spinach Salad (with or Without Ribeye) […]

Leave a Reply

