SCRAMBLED EGG BREAKFAST CASSEROLE

During Junior’s visit home, he not only bemoaned his cafeteria’s scrambled eggs (obviously nothing like mine) but said he misses my breakfast casseroles. Since he was home for just the one breakfast, I decided to give him scrambled eggs and a breakfast casserole–in one dish. A resounding success!

Scrambled Breakfast Casserole

spray olive oil

12 eggs, divided

1/4 cup water

1 tbsp butter

4 cups 1″ cubed bread (I used 2 large ciabatta rolls)

1 cup small dice ham

1 cup chopped spinach

1 cup grape tomatoes

1 cup half-and-half

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

1 cup grated Colby-Monterey Jack cheese

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees; lightly oil large casserole dish with spray olive oil

2) In medium-sized bowl, beat 6 eggs (reserving 6 eggs) with water until well-combined

3) Heat butter in large skillet over medium heat; pour egg-water mixture in skillet and cook, stirring eggs to scramble; when lightly cooked through, remove from heat and set aside

4) Scatter bread cubes over bottom of casserole dish; top with scrambled eggs, ham, spinach, and tomatoes; set aside

5) In medium-sized bowl, beat reserved 6 eggs with half-and-half, salt, and pepper until well-combined; pour over casserole and top with 1/2 cup cheese (reserving 1/2 cup); cover and refrigerate 1-2 hours or overnight; bake in oven 45-50 minutes until eggs sets; scatter reserved 1/2 cup cheese over top and bake additional 3-4 minutes until cheese melts; serve

Servings: 6-8

9 thoughts on “SCRAMBLED EGG BREAKFAST CASSEROLE

  1. This is perfect for me; had I known you had made this,I would have been by for breakfast!

  2. Teresa says:

    I don’t know what I’ve been thinking all this time! Some how I got it into my head to only pin recipes I find on Pinterest. I realized this morning I would like to pin a bunch of your stuff so I don’t forget about them and can refer to them later and make them when I’m looking for a new recipe to try! So, I’m going to be pinning a bunch of your stuff to my boards at Pinterest. You may get some traffic! 🙂

    • Why, thank you, Teresa! I’ll be pinning yours too. In addition to recipes found on Pinterest, I also pin my own recipes and that does seem to lead to more blog traffic. I sooo enjoy Pinterest. It’s so diverse and offers such quick and easy access to recipes and other things I’m interested in. Have a great day!

  3. Teresa says:

    Yes, I have pinned all my recipes and it has spurred a lot of blog traffic. If I don’t respond it’s not because I’m being unsociable. Now that I’ve moved to self-hosted I have to find a plug in that let’s me read comments I post on other blogs. Haven’t found one yet so I never know when people reply unless I go back to the original post! Yikes.

  4. […] Read all the instructions at tamaraleighauthor […]

  5. […] Scrambled egg breakfast casserole | tamara leigh: the During junior’s visit home, he not only bemoaned his cafeteria’s scrambled eggs (obviously nothing like mine) but said he misses my breakfast casseroles.. […]

  6. Tatenda says:

    Lovely Recipes , I hope to see your novels in movies

Leave a Reply

