PRIME RIB-BACON-BLUE SALAD

I overestimated how much our dinner guests could eat and so two grilled prime rib steaks ended up in my refrigerator. Since, in my opinion, a good cold steak is better than a re-grilled hot steak,  I thought “salad.” Because it was unplanned, I had to hunt through my fridge and pantry for complimentary ingredients, but I do believe it was a successful hunt. Totally tasty!

Prime Rib-Bacon-Bleu Salad3 cups chopped iceberg lettuce

3 cups baby spinach

2 stalks celery, finely diced

1/2 cup carrots (I used matchstick but grated works well too)

3 scallions, sliced thin

6 slices turkey bacon, lightly fried and chopped

1 firm but ripe avocado, pitted, peeled, and diced

1-1/2 lbs grilled and chilled prime rib steak (or other steak), diced

1/3 cup french-fried onions (I used Fresh Gourmet brand from the salad dressing aisle)

1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese (or feta if blue makes you blue)

Dressing of your choice (recommend: ranch, blue cheese, or raspberry walnut vinaigrette)

1) Easy: Layer each of four plates as follows: iceberg lettuce, spinach, celery, carrots, scallions, bacon, avocado, prime rib, french-fried onions, and blue cheese; serve with your favorite dressing

Servings: 4

2 thoughts on “PRIME RIB-BACON-BLUE SALAD

  1. I just love creative leftovers!

Leave a Reply

