LIME-COCONUT OATMEAL COOKIES

Well, yum! When I decided to concoct something (the warming weather made me do it), little did I know these cookies would be such a hit. Since it’s hard to go wrong with oatmeal cookies, especially those that have both a soft and crispy side, that’s where I started. And ended. Why try to improve on perfect, hmm? The addition of Craisins added a lovely “pop” to the cookies, but I imagine they would be delicious without.

Lime-Coconut Oatmeal Cookies

6 tbsp unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated white sugar

1 egg

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

zest of 1 lime, divided (save a large pinch for cookie tops after baking)

2 tbsp fresh lime juice

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1-1/4 cups shredded sweetened coconut, divided

1 cup Craisins + 2 tbsp for cookie tops (Craisins are optional, but oh-so-good and talk about pretty!)

1-1/2 cups old-fashioned oats (not quick-cooking)

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2) In large bowl, cream butter and both sugars with mixer on high speed until light and fluffy

3) On medium speed, beat in egg, vanilla, lime zest, lime juice, baking powder, baking soda, and salt

4) Beat in 1 cup coconut (reserving 1/4 cup for cookie tops), Craisins, and oats; stir in flour (dough will be on the moist side)

5) Drop dough by tablespoonfuls onto cookie sheet, press a pinch of reserved coconut and 2 Craisins into tops; bake 10-12 minutes until cookies are golden but still soft

6) Remove from oven, scatter tiny pinches of reserved lime zest on each cookie; transfer cookies to a wire rack and let cool

Makes: 2 dozen

NOTE: This is a “repeat” recipe featured on my original “Kitchen Novelist” blog 04/23/12

10 thoughts on “LIME-COCONUT OATMEAL COOKIES

  1. Okay – I don’t have a lime here today, and won’t make it to the store before I cook, but I’m going to make these without the lime, because I do have coconut. I was trying to come up with something simple to make for company visiting tomorrow afternoon, and I’ve never put coconut in my oatmeal cookies before. It sounds delicious! Next time, I’ll put the lime in the coconut and call you in the morning……..

  2. Wow. Bookmarking because these sound amazing. Just visiting (via Married… with Fiction) and so glad I did… 😀

  3. […] Lime-coconut Oatmeal Cookies (tamaraleighauthor.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Lime-coconut Oatmeal Cookies […]

  5. […] I shared a recipe for Lime-Coconut Oatmeal Cookies that featured the always lovely and tasty Craisins. This week, I substituted macadamia nuts for […]

  6. […] things first I can not take full credit for this recipe as I copied it from tamaraleighauthor blog (thank you!). I also did not follow the recipe exactly as I was missing a few ingredients (no […]

  7. I just made these and they are amazing! You can see my results on my blog. THANKS!

Leave a Reply

