CHICKEN AND BUTTERMILK DUMPLINGS

Yes, I squeezed in another soup-y meal before the hot weather hits hard–and this is one of my favorites: Chicken and (Buttermilk) Dumplings! Note: Because I adore dumplings (that’s mom’s Southern belle coming out in me), I went a bit overboard with these tasty lumps of biscuit, so you may want to cut back a little. Your call.

Chicken and Buttermilk Dumplings

SOUP:

1 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp butter

1 cup chopped onions

1/2 cup diced carrots

1/2 cup diced celery

1-1/2 lb chicken breasts, sliced thin and cut into bite-sized pieces

1 bay leaf

1 tsp dry thyme

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

6 cups chicken broth

1/2 cup heavy cream

1/2 cup frozen peas

1 tbsp chopped parsley

DUMPLINGS (Note: makes a load of dumplings):

2 eggs

1 cup buttermilk

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp baking powder

2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1) To large soup pot over medium-high heat, add oil and butter and melt; add onions, carrots, and celery and, stirring often, cook 10 minutes until vegetables soften; stir in chicken and cook, stirring often, 5-6 minutes until chicken cooks through

2) Reduce heat to low and add bay leaf, thyme, and pepper; sprinkle flour over top and, stirring continuously, cook 2-3 minutes; stir in chicken broth and cream (Note: unless you like mushy peas, hold off on them); stirring occasionally, cook 15 minutes

3) Meanwhile, in medium-sized bowl lightly beat eggs, buttermilk, salt, and baking powder; gradually stir in flour until dough comes together (will be quite moist)

4) Stir peas into soup mixture, then drop dough by tablespoonfuls on top of soup; cover pot with lid and cook 5 minutes; gently turn dumplings and cook 5-10 minutes longer until dumplings are firm and cooked through; remove from heat, pluck out bay leaf and toss; sprinkle with parsley and serve

Servings: 4 hearty dinner-sized bowls

10 thoughts on “CHICKEN AND BUTTERMILK DUMPLINGS

  1. MMMMM. Dinner tonight! I was wondering what I was going to make and we LOVE dumplings, and lots of them, too! In fact, there’s always some kind of victory in snagging the last one in our family….

    • Excellent! Fortunately for me, my guys like dumplings but not as much as I do, so they take more of the chicken stew and leave me with the carbs 🙂 I hope you’re doing well, Becky! I’m looking forward to reading the 4th installment of “Elderberry Croft,” which I keep promising to do. A gift to myself 🙂

      • Ha! Yes, bring on the carbs, baby! I am doing well, Tamara. My book and proposal went out to publishers this week, so now it’s a waiting game. I’m excited and a little overwhelmed, and kinda stunned and tired, too. It’s been a crazy week so chicken and dumplings is a perfect down home meal to wrap this week up!

        I hope you enjoy my little Cat Lady – I’m working on May’s installment today. Can’t believe it’s just around the corner!

        Hugs!

      • Very exciting, Becky! I look forward to great news 🙂

  2. Teresa says:

    I can’t wait to try this recipe!

  3. Late dinner – hubby’s using up the last drops of daylight – but the soup is bubbly and ready and, ahem, absolutely delicious! I didn’t have a bay leaf, but I had a whole bunch of cutting celery which has a slightly herbier flavor than plain celery so beefed that up instead. Oh my. Kevin just walked in and kissed me – it’s working. Except that he needs a shower now. Hee!

  4. Both the tomato chili and this look soooo good! Keep tempting me!

    Thanks for the visit to my site as well,
    ~Rob

Leave a Reply

