TUNA STEAKS WITH PEACH SALSA

I was on a roll writing today–1,500 words of The Kindling: Book Four, which is a big deal for un-prolific me–when dinner time rolled around. So I extricated myself from the middle ages and hung up my pen and paper (or something like that) to make dinner for my guys. Though I overcooked the tuna a bit, the peach salsa made up for my wandering mind that couldn’t fully shake free of the sticky situation in which I had placed my poor hero and heroine. But after dinner…

Tuna Steaks with Peach Salsa

1 large peach, pitted and diced

1 large tomato, diced

1/2 red onion, diced

1 tbsp minced jalapeno

1 tbsp minced cilantro

1 tbsp honey

1/2 cup cornmeal

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

4-6 oz tuna steaks (or other fish)

1) 30 minutes prior to preparing fish, combine peach, tomato, onion, jalapeno, cilantro, and honey in a medium-sized bowl and refrigerate

2) To shallow bowl add cornmeal, salt, and pepper; set aside

3) To large skillet, add olive oil and butter and heat over medium-high; dredge tuna steaks in cornmeal mixture and place in skillet; cook 3-4 minutes each side or until fish is just cooked through; remove from heat, top each tuna steak with peach salsa, and serve

Servings: 4

6 thoughts on “TUNA STEAKS WITH PEACH SALSA

  1. Rel Mollet says:

    You’re gorgeous! Hope you let them eat with forks and didn’t out the food in a trencher 😉 Looks delish!

  2. Wow – LOVE the color! Since I don’t eat fish, but EVERYTHING you post is always something I would love… I think I may try this with a chicken breast and see how it goes.

  3. Teresa says:

    Wow, that peach salsa looks wonderful. I’m going to have to try it sometime!

Leave a Reply

