SIRLOIN BLACK BEAN SOUP

I do believe we are coming out of soup season here in Tennessee, though I won’t be surprised if we get another cold snap before we settle into spring. In the meantime, may I present Sirloin Black Bean Soup–a flavorful dish full of veggies, our favorite black beans, and leftover sirloin steak. Thumbs up!

Sirloin Black Bean Soup

2 tbsp olive oil

1 large onion, chopped

1 bell pepper (I used orange), cored, seeded, and chopped

2 celery stalks, chopped

2 carrots, peeled and chopped

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1-1/2 tbsp tomato paste

4 cups beef broth

1-12 oz beer (I used non-alcoholic O’Doul’s)

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 cup chopped tomatoes

2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed

2 cups chopped grilled top sirloin steak (I used leftovers)

1 tbsp parsley

1) To large soup pot, add olive oil and heat over medium-high; add onion and cook, stirring often, 5 minutes; add bell pepper, celery, and carrots and cook 8 minutes, stirring often

2) Add cumin, paprika, sea salt, red pepper flakes, and tomato paste; stirring continuously, cook 2 minutes; stir in beef broth, beer, balsamic vinegar, tomatoes, and black beans; cook 15 minutes

3) Stir in steak, cook a minute to warm meat through, and remove soup from heat; ladle into bowls, sprinkle with parsley, and serve immediately

Servings: 4

7 thoughts on “SIRLOIN BLACK BEAN SOUP

  1. Good idea to get a soup in before it gets too warm. This looks delicious!

  2. Barefoot Believer says:

    Wow!! This looks so good I can almost smell it through the computer – lol! And with winter still lingering – it’s still a good soup day! I think I’ll have a bowl and “long” for a good book to read…..sigh….. but patience is a virtue – so I’ll pray and wait!

    • Thank you, Pam! I’m working on The Longing tonight–again:) I’ve edited out 2,000 words to give it more polish and better pacing, but there’s more to do–rewrite a scene that’s on the clunky side, check some historical facts, then edit some more. Thank you for the prayers and for hanging in here with me. You help more than you can know. Blessings!

  3. Teresa says:

    Thinks looks so delightful!

  4. My French Heaven says:

    You know, I don’t make enough soups. I love them though and this ones sounds like a perfect one to try. I LOVE beans in soup!!

Leave a Reply

