CHICKEN-CHICKPEA-POTATO SOUP

I adore chickpeas–hot, cold, and in between. And, apparently, my guys aren’t immune to their charms either. Though this recipe makes four hearty servings, Senior was disappointed when, in answer to his request for a second serving, I had to tell him we had scraped the bottom of the soup pot.

Chicken-Chick Pea-Potato Soup

1 tbsp olive oil

1 cup chopped onions

1/2 cup finely chopped celery

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1/2 tsp dried sage

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

5 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth

1-10 can chicken breast, undrained

2-1/2 cups potatoes, peeled and diced

1-15 oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 cup matchstick carrots

2-1/2 cup chopped fresh baby spinach

1) To large soup pot over medium-high heat, add olive oil; add onions, celery, thyme, sage, and black pepper and cook 6-7 minutes, stirring often, until vegetables are tender

2) Add chicken broth, chicken breast (including liquid), potatoes, chickpeas, and carrots and bring to a boil; reduce heat to low and cook 25 minutes

3) Using an immersion blender*, puree soup lightly (you’ll want to retain the texture of some whole veggies and chicken); stir in spinach, immediately remove from heat, and serve

*Note: If you don’t have an immersion blender, puree half the soup in a regular blender (Careful! Soup is hot!), then stir pureed soup back into un-pureed soup.

Servings: 4 dinner-sized portions

14 thoughts on “CHICKEN-CHICKPEA-POTATO SOUP

  1. sani panini says:

    Perfect for a cold day!

  2. Teresa says:

    I’m going to make this soon. I love all the ingredients and your picture makes me want to eat a bite right now!

  3. Teresa says:

    I’m making this as I type. Can’t wait to try it!

  4. Teresa says:

    It is extremely tasty! I really liked this. We are having company after church on Sunday for lunch and one of the children cannot have anything with milk. I may switch up my menu and offer this instead. So easy, and I could probably keep it warm in the crockpot that morning before we get home. Thanks so much for sharing.

    • You’re so welcome, Teresa. Did you do anything different? I love variations on recipes.

      • Teresa says:

        I increased the amounts of the spices. I’m going to add salt and parsley when I make a big batch tomorrow. (X 3 for about 12 servings). I added a leek because I needed to get rid of one. I bet it would be good with mushrooms too. Also, I just defrosted and baked up 2 chicken breasts since I didn’t have any canned chicken. I thought it turned out really wonderful….but you know me….I like to play around a little with recipes–especially soups and salads.. Also, I added 6 cups of chicken broth instead of only 5.

        I loved the base of this recipe. I think it would be delicious with black beans and corn instead of, or in addition to the garbanzos, keeping everything else the same. It’s really nice that it is so creamy and you don’t have to add extra cheese (calories!!!)

      • I just knew you’d come up with some great variations. Love the idea of mushrooms, and you can never really go wrong with black beans 🙂

      • Teresa says:

        Well, I’m going to make two double batches of this tomorrow. One is going to be just like I made it today with a few additions of spices (mentioned in the earlier comment). I’m also going to try another two batches with black beans and corn. I’m still trying to decide if I should leave the chickpeas in it or take them out of that batch. If you have any recommendations let me know.

      • I think I would leave out the chickpeas if you use black beans and corn, Teresa, but I could be wrong. If you get the chance, let me know how the black bean version turns out. Have a fabulous weekend.

      • Teresa says:

        I left the chick peas in! I thought it tasted great. I’ll be posting it in the next couple of days. This one has posted tonight.

  5. […] found this delicious recipe at Tamara Leigh: The Kitchen Novelist’s website. Tamara has some A-M-A-Z-I-N-G recipes. I usually want to try everything she makes! Check […]

  6. […] week I tried out a delicious new soup recipe with chicken, chick peas, and potatoes, along with many other veggies. I made a few improvements but […]

Leave a comment