TILAPIA AMANDINE (for un-aFISHianados)

This Tilapia Amandine was delish! And that’s high praise coming from un-aFISHianado me. Unfortunately, this was not my plate. Believing I would be ho-hum about this dish, I gifted half my portion to Senior and Junior Too, the fish lovers in our family. And once it was off my plate, it was gone. Senior said it’s the best fish he’s ever had–even better than lobster. I don’t know about that, but I certainly felt well and truly patted on the back. And my taste buds were quite happy too πŸ™‚

Tilapia Almondine

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

2 eggs, beaten

1 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp butter

4-6 tilapia fillets (depending on size), patted dry

1 tbsp dried chopped shallots

3/4 cup white cooking wine

juice of one lemon

1/2 cup minced parsley

2/3 cup sliced almonds

1) Preheat oven to 200 degrees; place 4 oven-safe plates in oven to warm

2) Combine flour, salt, and pepper in shallow bowl; pour beaten eggs into a second shallow bowl

3) To large skillet over medium heat, add olive oil and butter; stir to combine

4) Dip both sides of tilapia fillets in flour, followed by egg; place in skillet and cook 2-3 minutes each side until cooked through and golden brown (if you have to make in 2 batches, keep the first batch warm in the oven); divide fillets between 4 warmed plates

5) Immediately add shallots to same skillet and cook 2 minutes to soften; add cooking wine, lemon, and parsley and cook 2 minutes; remove from heat

6) Sprinkle almonds over fillets and pour wine-lemon sauce over all; serve immediately with wedges of lemon (mostly for looks since the sauce is sufficiently lemon-y); eat it up!

Servings: 4

2 thoughts on “TILAPIA AMANDINE (for un-aFISHianados)

  1. Oh, SHOCK to see you with fish,but you did a wonderful job! I will try this…(and maybe tinker with the type of fish).
    Thanks!

Leave a comment